Watching videos of yourself teaching

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by MetalTeacher, Nov 13, 2016.

1. MetalTeacher

MetalTeacher Companion

Nov 13, 2016

How often do y'all still have to watch videos of yourself in front of a classroom? (If you do, does it ever get less awkward?)

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Nov 13, 2016

It's a great tool for coaching and self reflection. One can learn a lot about their teaching, their class by watching a tape of themselves.

4. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Nov 13, 2016

When I taught online, I had to record my live sessions every day. It's a little humbling at times, but I know it's made me a better educator.

5. ms.irene

ms.irene Connoisseur

Nov 16, 2016

I haven't done this since I was a student teacher a decade ago -- but it would probably be a great idea! And nope, I don't think it ever gets easier to watch yourself on video (at least, it hasn't for me!).

6. SpecialPreskoo

SpecialPreskoo Moderator

Nov 16, 2016

I hate to hear myself talk on video! I'm so SOUTHERN! lol I sound so much like a hick. haha

7. MetalTeacher

MetalTeacher Companion

Nov 16, 2016

I'm the exact same way! I never notice it when I'm talking but then I hear myself and I'm astonished by how I actually sound.

8. SpecialPreskoo

SpecialPreskoo Moderator

Nov 16, 2016

I said something today and one of my kids started mocking me... hahaha. Then I realized just how redneck I sounded. They are just as bad as I am! :D

9. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Nov 25, 2016

The only time I did this was during student teaching, for my TPA4. I hated it, I have an accent, and I know it, and I always forget it. That's not so bad, but I'm sure most of even hate the sound of our voice (it doesn't sound the same as it does in our head), and just seeing myself.