Was a New Kg Teacher but Crashed and Burned

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by KindergartenCop, Dec 5, 2004.

1. KindergartenCop

KindergartenCop Rookie

Dec 5, 2004

Hi There!

I was a new teacher in Kindergarten this past August. I was not well prepared for the classroom and I ended up resigning. I did NOT enjoy a single day I was there because I was never able to do the things I thought I should be doing.
    Two points:
    1. all of the other K Team members (including grade chair) were brand new.
    2. When I mentioned that I only had a rocking chair for house keeping I was told that we would be "De-emphasizing play and Focusing on Academics." :eek: (I am still stunned by that remark, but I'd like to focus on what I need to do to get back in the classroom - Read on, that topic is for later)

Looking back I realize that I was not teaching to the students at their level (i.e. 5 year olds). I felt ENORMOUS pressure to complete assessments, teach rules, and get three mixed ability reading groups *fully* functional by week 3. My principal felt I did not have "good classroom management" so I was sent to training. But really, I could control the class, I just did not seem to be able to keep their attention during lessons. (So the started to "act up" because they were 5 years old and bored.) I am substituting until a new position opens up.

This is my second career. I was a Geographer in my previous life. I can't take a year off and go back to school. (An MS in Early Childhood Education would be nice but I still have to support my family.) I can substitute in intermediate (4th and 5th) and I do well, but I *REALLY* want to teach in Kdg. The children and class environment are so rewarding to work with.