Wanting to become an Elementary Science Teacher

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Scarlet646, Jun 13, 2012.

1. Scarlet646

Scarlet646 Rookie

Jun 13, 2012

Hi everyone,

I have posted in the general discussion before on the possibility of becoming a teacher (at first I wanted to do high school). Lately I have been thinking about elementary education, since I love the younger kids versus teenagers. I graduated with a BS in Biology and a minor in Chemistry, and currently work in the Children's Department of a library.

I keep hearing that there are no jobs out there for elementary teachers! This is very disheartening. I don't know whether to begin graduate school, or just get my initial licence and try to find a job, if there even are any.

Any thoughts/advice?

Thanks!

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jun 13, 2012

There are jobs out there, but they are scarce and far between. But that doesn't mean you shouldn't apply and give it your best shot.

4. AlwaysAttend

AlwaysAttend Fanatic

Jun 13, 2012

Apply but some districts do not offer departmentalized science in Elementary.

5. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Jun 13, 2012

You will find that there are very few departmentalized science program in Elementary, and most of those are filled internally. You'd have to be credentialed as an elementary education teacher with extra science classes (which I assume you already have.)

Check with your state credentialling office. You'll need classes in elementary education, pedagogy, etc. They can tell you exactly what you'll need.

People are often under the false assumption that all you have to do is pass a test or two, but that isn't true for elementary education. Your best bet might be a career switcher program.

Best of luck...

6. smurfette

smurfette Habitué

Jun 13, 2012