vowel pairs..how to teach them?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by morgie, Nov 14, 2005.

1. morgie

morgie Rookie

Nov 14, 2005

I am a student in college majoring in education and am taking a reading methods class where we have to come up with phonics lessons. I am having difficulty with this class and i have to come up with a lesson for a class to teach vowel pairs..and have no idea how to do to this? Can anyone give me any idea?
    Thanks

3. kinderkids

kinderkids Virtuoso

Nov 14, 2005

4. morgie

morgie Rookie

Nov 14, 2005

yes kind of..i already looked at that before..but the problem with that was someone already taught w as a vowel and used aw,ew,ow..so it doesn't help me...i was thinking vowel pairs like ea..ou..ee..ai..things like that..but not sure how to make a lesson out of that.

5. ABall

ABall Fanatic

Nov 14, 2005

on www.pbskids.org they have a show called between the lions, they have a little thing aoubt some of the vowels. the sing a song called "when two vowels go walking the first one does the talking" You could look at that and incorporate with some worksheets. maybe your library has the videos of the show and you could just show that part for your presentation. And then go in further. there is also a part on double vowels I think.

6. jcg

jcg Cohort

Nov 14, 2005

I just tell the kids the first one says it name, the second one is silent.

7. SportsFanTr

SportsFanTr Companion

Nov 15, 2005

Here's a chant I got from my mentoring teacher:

When two vowels go walking side by side,
    The first one says its name with pride.

8. morgie

morgie Rookie

Nov 15, 2005

what is a good activity to do with vowel pairs though?

9. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Nov 15, 2005

You could give out cards with letters on them and then build words with the kids- the kids stand up and make the word, change one letter at time. Follow up with word work on white boards