violence in classrooms - documentary film

Discussion in 'General Education' started by teacherfilm2020, Jan 20, 2020.

1. teacherfilm2020

teacherfilm2020 Rookie

Jan 20, 2020

Each day when a teacher walks into a classroom, they face a wealth of uncertainties. Which students will show up? Will there be a fire drill? Will students be attentive and engaged, or aloof and disruptive? What new edicts will be sent down from the administration this week? Will I have time for lunch with all the grading I have due for sixth period? All important concerns, but increasingly, teachers must also question whether acts or threats of violence will impact their workday. This violence is an issue that many teachers have dealt with, that few other professions experience, and that the public should be made aware of.

I am a filmmaker in New York City searching for teachers to speak to about their experiences in classroom settings where violence was (or is) an active problem or a disturbing backdrop to their career. My father was a teacher and his experiences and those of many friends drive my interest in this subject. I am writing a film about a teacher who must confront the parents of a student she believes may become violent, and I would like to talk with teachers who have dealt with this problem in their classrooms. I will film these interviews and cut a short documentary giving voice to this issue.

I would love to speak to teachers with a wide range of experiences, from the minor (being kicked by a pre-schooler during a tantrum) to the more serious (threatened by a high school student) to the catastrophic (acts of gun violence). I would also like to hear from teachers who have not experienced violence directly, but are affected by it through community issues, media coverage, etc. Teachers may face potentially dangerous situations every time they walk into a classroom, and their stories should be told.