very over whelmed

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by brandi0718, Jul 25, 2007.

1. brandi0718

brandi0718 Comrade

Jul 25, 2007

i am a first year teacher teaching 1st grade and school will start in a little over a week. i have been working very hard in my classroom, but nothing seems to be going right. i am not a very crafty person. i can come up with ideas, but they just don't work out. my room is not going to have a theme this year...is this ok? i have not been able to see other classrooms at the school to see how they are set up so i don't know if everyone else is going to have a theme. i am hoping everything is going to come together, but it seems like as soon as i get something up..my husband or mom will be like...well i don;t like that.....and then i have to start all over. i dont want my room to be ugly. :unsure:

3. Schuyler

Schuyler Comrade

Jul 25, 2007

I'm also a new teacher and will be starting in first grade. I started out wanting a theme, and then I realized that there are so many other things I want to spend my time and money on as a new teacher. So I'm not doing a theme, but I did pick a color scheme (blue and light yellow), to help me pick things out and to make the room come together a bit. Honestly, I think there are a lot of teachers in a lot of schools who don't do themes at all. I don't know if I've ever been in a classroom with a theme. That is not to knock the idea of doing themes - I'd like to maybe try one in the future. I just decided that it was not something I wanted to do in my first year. Good luck - it sounds like you have put a lot of thought into your room and I'm sure it will be great. Most important is having procedures down pat, and a grasp on the curriculum.

4. Pencil Monkey

Pencil Monkey Devotee

Jul 25, 2007