Very Bad Day, Anyone else?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by NewTeacher05, May 14, 2015.

1. NewTeacher05

NewTeacher05 Rookie

May 14, 2015

Hello,
    I am a 2nd year K teacher. Yesterday, one of my kids at the very end of the day (we were lining up for buses) told me he had a number 2 accident (nothing was on his clothes, the accident appeared to be in his underwear only). He did not have a change of clothes, but I quickly found a spare pair of underwear and shorts I had that would fit him and told him to change, when he asked what to do with his messy clothes I gave him a bag and told him to put the clothes inside. Immediately after school I had to set up for an afterschool event and was at the event until 7:15pm. In retrospect I should have given he parent a call to inform her of the accident, however due to the busy afternoon/night, I did not.

This morning, the student's mom sent both me and my P an email with the poopy clothes pic attached and number 1 blamed me for not letting him go to the bathroom (I have a go whenever you need to bathroom policy, he never asked), then said I should not have sent home the poopy clothes, and I should have called.

I agree it was my fault for not calling, but we are all human and make mistakes. My P met with me over it today, and made me feel like a horrible person. He asked me how I would feel if that situation happened to me, and I said honestly not that upset (like thank goodness my child had clean clothes right?) And my P goes, how can you sit here and tell me that? He also asked me why I did not call and I said honestly it slipped my mind, again he said that was not an acceptable answer (again it was a mistake, I will not let it happen again). He also told me I needed to inspect the clothes and bag them myself.