Venting on the job search(sorry)

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by footballfan1989, Aug 13, 2015.

1. footballfan1989

footballfan1989 Rookie

Aug 13, 2015

Six interviews this summer and nothing. Three of them never even gave me "we decided to go with another candidate. I have many years of classroom experience , great references, a solid portfolio. I swear I go out feeling great and then silence followed by a rejection email. Lots of smiling and nodding during interviews. I even had one call one of my references 10 minutes after my interview. I know that this is hyperbole but sometimes I feel that teaching jobs may be some of the hardest professional jobs to get. You are limited to the amount of places you can work and the majority of hiring is limited to 4 months out of the year. I wish you could at least find out where they ranked you so you could get an idea is it worth it to apply again or were you so bad that it isn't worth it.

3. Boba

Boba Companion

Aug 13, 2015

I understand. I think the hardest part about getting a teaching job is actually getting in the district itself.

4. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Aug 13, 2015

I know this doesn't help you get a job, but I see you are new here so make yourself feel a bit better by reading about my 50ish interview year (counting first, second, third, and even some fourth interviews)- that resulted in a terrible job and a maternity leave :/ This was with six years of experience with glowing references and letters.

http://forums.atozteacherstuff.com/showthread.php?t=172528&highlight=updating

Spoiler- two years later, I still don't have a permanent job. I did land a mid-year job in January 2014, but it came with a 90 mile commute (one way). I received a job closer to home for last year, but it ended with me resigning in April after a broken wrist, multiple death threats, a weapon brought into my classroom, sexual harassment, and a plethora of other issues.

5. pommom

pommom Comrade

Aug 13, 2015