Value of furniture, a consumer tip

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Irishdave, Dec 27, 2011.

1. Irishdave

Irishdave Enthusiast

Dec 27, 2011

Being an old shop teacher I tend to look at how it is made and what it is made from.

How do you consider value?
    Do you move often?
    Do you have kids?
    Do you rent? ​
    These factors all must be considered.

Here is what I taught to my students:

Unless it is truly hand made (not mass produced) its value is many times over stated. If you compare prices with, lets say, Amazon you will see the item's real value.
    Recently I built a desk with a pop up top which becomes a stand up lectern. When I priced the mechanism the price was $199.99 here in the States I found the same mechanism from China only $10 and freight brought it up to $49.00, far better price.​
    I put furniture in two classes "heirloom" and "everyday." When you buy "heirloom" it should last for generations, a good value if it can last.
    "Everyday" lasts from one year to about 7 years here is where value comes in, do you spend $500 on a coffee table that may last 7 to 30 years or go to Walmart and buy one for $24.88?
    Many young people will buy over priced furniture thinking it is a good value but forget that wear and tear from family and "others" can really take its toll. Replacing a "Walmart" coffee table 3 or 4 times may cost about $130 where replacing a "heirloom" will take more of your budget ($1000+).

If you plan to live in a museum, Heirloom is the way to go. If you have a family, buying in the "step mode" is better, start with Walmart or Yard sales then move up and finish with high$ stores, is a better value.

3. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Dec 27, 2011