utilizing student teacher aides efficiently?

Discussion in 'High School' started by iluvteachin, Sep 9, 2007.

1. iluvteachin

iluvteachin Rookie

Sep 9, 2007

I have 2 students who are in my class this year as teacher aides ... I'm wondering for those of you who have/had t.a.(s), what did you do with them?
    anybody who has a "wish list" of what they'd have their t.a. do if they had one?
    just trying to create an expectations sheet and not too sure where to start as this is my first year allowing them in my class.

thanks in advance :cool:

3. mrswilson

mrswilson Rookie

Sep 9, 2007

We have aides in our classes, and they are assigned by us to work one-on-one with students who are mainstreamed but need extra help with academics or behavior. They are really not supposed to do anything else.

Are you talking about student helpers, or adult aides?

My wish list, if I could have them do whatever I needed would be:

--copying (there is always copying to do)
    --taking attendance
    --collecting HW/classwork completed during class
    --make flashcards/study aids
    --organize learning centers/multimedia stations for research, etc
    --circulate and check on note-taking, work completion

4. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Sep 9, 2007

Student aides at my school aren't permitted to do a whole slew of things, so it's sometimes hard to find things for them to do. They can't make or pick up copies because all the copiers are in locked rooms and the graphics guy doesn't like kids in his room. They can't take attendance because that's OUR job and there are some legality issues. They can't grade papers or enter grades in the computer because of confidentiality issues.

Anyway. This is what I ask my student aide to do.

--Collate whenever the graphics guy messes up and doesn't staple my packets together