Using the 5 Essential Developmental Domains in my weekly lesson plan

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by beginnerteacher, Aug 18, 2012.

1. beginnerteacher

beginnerteacher Rookie

Aug 18, 2012

I am a New Head Start teacher and they have now added the 5 Essential Develoment Domains in our weekly lesson plans:Cognitive, Language/Literacy, Social/Emotional, Physical Approaches to Learning. We have to write something in each block, but I need an example of what to write. Not sure what to write in this area. Please Help!

3. WaProvider

WaProvider Fanatic

Aug 18, 2012

Lets pretend you wish to discuss Apples/Red/and the begining of the fact that there are letters in the world not necessarily recognizing A,B,C but more print awareness.

That is the part some would call you "theme"

Cognitive: What take away skill would you like them to aquire this lesson? Perhaps: Apples grow on trees. So book about apples and a pic to paint with apples and perhaps a flannel board where you assemble an apple tree. Taste apples, cut apples and so on.

Language and lit: pick a rhyme for apples...I know some...do you? Pick some books...put them around the room. Depending on your programs view of print...post the word apple around and notice the letters. Otherwise point at the words in the books as you read them and say the story is held in the words not the picture.

Soc/emotional: happy/sad faces, how do you make friends and keep them...how to get along with peers and some activitiy for a couple of these.

Physical approaches to learning: what do you think this means? you tell me?

4. beginnerteacher

beginnerteacher Rookie

Aug 18, 2012

thank you so much for your help...this gave me an idea of what to write

5. mrs_sarahscott

mrs_sarahscott Rookie

Aug 18, 2012

"Physical approaches to learning: what do you think this means?"