Using music as form of learning in the general ed classroom

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by WeathS, Sep 6, 2010.

1. WeathS

WeathS New Member

Sep 6, 2010

Hello!
    I am an early field intern and I am currently researching the benefits of using music in the general education classroom as an effective strategy for development and learning.

I would love to hear from some wonderful elementary level teachers about your experiences.

Have you found using music in the classroom to be effective?

How have you used music in the classroom?

Thank you, I can not wait to hear your thoughts!:whistle::whistle:

3. nasirahc83

nasirahc83 Companion

Sep 6, 2010

Well, I am a new teacher but I remember as a elementary student my teacher always play classical music. He explain something about research and simulating our thoughts. Now that I am teacher, I am consider doing the same thing playing classical music. I will keep you abreast of any signs that it is working or not working.

4. EMonkey

EMonkey Connoisseur

Sep 6, 2010

Check out the Music Integrated Literacy Enhancement (mile program).

5. Danny'sNanny

Danny'sNanny Connoisseur

Sep 6, 2010

You can find lots of catchy little songs for learning various concepts. And it seems that the kids are much more likely to remember what they have learned as a song.

(My writer's workshop is usually very quiet, until someone breaks out in song to remember how to spell "purple" or some such thing)

6. scmom

scmom Enthusiast

Sep 7, 2010