Using Cell Phones in the classroom

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by wcormode, Oct 11, 2010.

1. wcormode

wcormode Rookie

Oct 11, 2010

I know that the students have them. I know that they use them. They are so quick and talented at texting I am sure they can do it in their pocket in the 2 seconds that I am looking the other direction. Why fight it?

I saw this article today: http://historytech.wordpress.com/2010/03/11/cell-phones-in-the-classroom/

I absolutely love the ideas in it. As a math teacher I could post extra credit questions if Wiffiti and they could answer by text. I could use Polleverywhere and incorporate into my lessons. I would obviously give students without phones an opportunity to answer by paper or verbally.

I would also okay everything with my building principal in advance. Plus I would have them take something home for their parents to sign.

What do you think? What are ways to protect against things going awry? Is this more trouble then it is worth? Could I post the questions and then ask them to answer outside of class?

3. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Oct 11, 2010

My daughter's high school has a strict 'no cell phones' in class policy--I wouldn't contravene that.

4. wcormode

wcormode Rookie

Oct 11, 2010

Our school is rural and most parents have to call long distance just to reach the school. They have a toll free number but there isnt always someone in the office. So they allow phones in school. If teachers see them in class they are allowed to take them away. But students are allowed to use them before and after school plus passing periods. If phones become a problem the policy becomes more strict and it can become more relaxed if the students are really good.

My thing is that with a strict no phones policy the kids just want to break it more. I guarantee that more kids use their phones under that policy than do under our policy.