Urgent Need Read 180 help

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Bbiek001, Aug 5, 2014.

1. Bbiek001

Bbiek001 Rookie

Aug 5, 2014

I am a first year teacher and my school stuck me with READ 180 even though there is no mention of it during the interview. Regardless, they have given me this class of 21 to run this program and I have no training, a manual from 2009, none of the software installed, don't know how to use the software, and every teacher I talk to acts like it is the worse class ever. The guy that had it before me was a teacher for 10 years and quit after one year. I am a brand new teacher and don't want to burn out in my first year. Please help if you can...

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Aug 5, 2014

Is this in dream district? Just curious.

4. Bbiek001

Bbiek001 Rookie

Aug 5, 2014

No, this is not. This is the job I am currently was hired for. They told me I would be teaching 9th and 10th LA or one of those and AVID originally. My first day they told me I have this READ 180, a sheltered LA 2, and two more classes of regular LA 2. Every teacher I talk to acts like READ 180 is the worst class ever and it is 9th grade but was informed every kid on average has a 4th grade reading level. I know your remark was snide, but honestly I hope I get a job in the DREAM District since I would be teaching drama, 7th, or 8th LA which I love middle school the most anyway. Regardless of what people think of me on here I would appreciate help.

5. comaba

comaba Cohort

Aug 5, 2014

I'm not sure why they think READ 180 is so bad. Our reading intervention teacher uses it and I think she likes it. I haven't used it, so not much help, but...

The students will probably already be familiar with the program. They probably used it in middle school. So, they can probably help you more than you'd expect in terms of how it's run.

Have you checked out the Scholastic website. They may have something to help you.