Updating Cover Letter

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by cymru3, Mar 13, 2016.

1. cymru3

cymru3 Rookie

Mar 13, 2016

I currently work as a long-term sub, teaching AP and honors seniors. I have been told that some jobs might be coming up in the district, both at the high school and one of the middle schools. I love the district and want to have my application ready to go at a moment's notice, so would love some advice on my cover letter. This is my 'generic' cover letter which I alter a little depending on what each job ad is asking/looking for.

I would love some advice on the following:
    • My main issue is making it sound different enough to the original letter that they would have read when I applied for this current job. How different should it be, do you think?
    • The last time I posted on here many people felt that it was too long, although as I originally taught in the UK where the standard is 2 full pages I really struggled to cut it down.
    • I am also unsure about where to add in my current job...I quite like the paragraph where I describe my successes as it shows a variety of ages/abilities. Where can seniors AP and honors fit in, in your opinion?
    • Would also like advice on how to add a sentence or two about 'wanting the job because I currently work in and love the district', without sounding like I'm sucking up!
    There's also a link to a screenshot of my resume. It actually fits neatly onto one page, not sure why it shows up on 2-3 pages on the full-page view I used in the screenshot.
    Is it formatted correctly for US standards? Is there anything I've left out? Anything I should cut? I'm considering cutting the student teaching para...I mean everyone knows what that entails.
    http://imgur.com/LJiEEIt

------------------------------------------------------------------​

Dear ***,