University of Phoenix/Military Spouse/Masters

Discussion in 'General Education' started by CrayonsCoffee, Feb 13, 2015.

1. CrayonsCoffee

CrayonsCoffee Rookie

Feb 13, 2015

Hello everyone. This is my first post, although I have been stalking the forum for a few months. I am in a situation in which I desperatly need advice.

I want to be a teacher. You can even tell by my community college transcript, it states Elementay Education as my major. Life has thrown many curveballs and I have not been able to make this dream a reality. As stated on the topic line, I am a military spouse and I am also prior military. I do not stay in one location for more the a few years.

I am looking into an alternative certification program in my area when low and behold my spouse informs me that we may be moving again. We have lived here less than a year!! :-( I want to go to a state university however with the possible move it sounds like that would be a waste of money and time. On many states pathways to teaching websites it states that University of Phoenix is an acceptable university. However, I am reluctant. The university will work with me if I move during the degree program although I may be required to take extra tests depending on the state. In this district, I have been informed that they do not look down upon UoP.

Has anyone been in a similar situation? Does your district look down upon a UOP degree? Based on my situation can anyone offer any advice on any alternatives that I can pursue? Thank you in advance.

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Feb 13, 2015

It's not especially highly regarded by all districts..my state is competitive with many many candidates applying for every opening. A Phoenix degree wouldn't be competitive in my area. :sorry:

4. CrayonsCoffee

CrayonsCoffee Rookie

Feb 13, 2015

Thank you. I appreciate the honesty. I just don't know how to make this dream a reality without it being crushed by moving a year into a state program. :-( Thanks again!