Unfinised Work

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by jeni8601, Jan 31, 2015.

1. jeni8601

jeni8601 Rookie

Jan 31, 2015

I am a 1st year teacher (3rd grade) and I am having a huge problem with missing student work. I am ADHD and disorganized so I know I am partly to blame because I can't find my own strategy to keep up with who is finished and who is not until I grade over the weekends, and sometimes 2 weeks later. Then I will track down the kids that owe me work, and its unfinished in their desk most of the time. I know I am not losing the work because I do keep it together, but I realize that many teachers catch unfinished work on a daily basis, where I am way behind.

I make time for students to work on unfinished work, assuming they know what to do. They probably do, but choose to do other things instead. How can I manage this issue so that it does not happen in the future and students can catch up without having a huge overload of work 2 weeks later???

3. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Jan 31, 2015

I usually collect unfinished work at the end of the work time and keep it in my "make-up work" file, which is also where the work for students who are absent goes. Then I pull it out at the beginning of the next opportunity for work time and pass it back to those who still need to complete it.

4. ktdclark

ktdclark Comrade

Jan 31, 2015

My kids have to keep their unfinished jobs in subject folders in their desks...on Fridays, I do a folder check and any unfinished work must be turned in by the end of the day.

5. BioAngel

BioAngel Science Teacher - Grades 3-6

Feb 1, 2015