Unexperienced teacher(?) going to interviews

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by anna9868, Jun 28, 2008.

1. anna9868

anna9868 Habitué

Jun 28, 2008

Hello,
    I'd like to tell my story to see if anyone can identify with parts of it and also ask some questions.

I'm a stay-at-home mom (with children 6 and 2.5 y.o.) I have switched to teaching because I thought I love to work with children, I got my Masters in Early Childhood, got the liscense and did some substitute teaching.

I was hoping I would start working once my younger one is in school, but it looks like stay-at-home role is not really for me, because I'm kind of going crazy from it. Not that I have nothing to do, but it's that feeling of unfulfillness. I'm not able to teach my own children things that I was hoping to teach them. And that makes me feel like a total failure. I know that they say that teaching your own children is harder than others. I know, but still, that thought keeps coming back that I won't be able to work in a classroom if I cannot handle my own 2 children. :(

In addition to that, after going to different classes as a sub, I realized that being a classroom teacher is not for me., at least not at that point. I'm not able to handle a class full of kids by myself. I can only work under some one at this point.

Anyway, despite all the doubts, I have started to apply to assistant teacher positions. I need to start working in order to get some experience and keep sane :)

Questions:
    1. If they ask me at the interview how come I have a masters degree but apply for assistant, which only requires school diploma, is that OK to tell them the truth that I'm scared/reluctant to teach?

2. Are there many places where there are 2 teachers, lead teacher and a second teacher? My son went to a private kindergarden and that's what they had there. I would like to find such places.