Unexpected things you've had to buy?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by missrebecca, Apr 5, 2015.

1. missrebecca

missrebecca Comrade

Apr 5, 2015

What are some things you've bought for teaching (out of your own pocket!) that you wouldn't have expected?

For me, it is filing cabinets and bookshelves. My classroom was not outfitted with these things -- and to my surprise, many of my mentor teachers/current coworkers also bought their own. I mean... where are we supposed to keep our files and books?! lol

Your turn! :)

3. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

Apr 5, 2015

Nothing unexpected, but I have bought a lot of normal stuff that I shouldn't have needed to purchase... pencils, notebooks, book sets, etc.

4. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Apr 5, 2015

As a college student, I never imagined that there would be a day where I would have to walk into a store to buy a bag of gravel, potting soil, and sand for my classroom.

5. GTB4GT

GTB4GT Cohort

Apr 5, 2015

My mindset is..if it is important, it will be provided or furnished. If not, I and the students work around it somehow. I don't think anyone has suffered as a result, and it has helped me differentiate between a want and a need. And also, from spending out of my own pocket. But everyone has their own comfort level in this regard, which is perfectly acceptable.

6. Bunnie

Bunnie Devotee

Apr 5, 2015

I have to buy tablecloths to cover my bookcases and other things lying around in stacks around my classroom for state testing.

I guess that's the strangest.

7. terptoteacher

terptoteacher Connoisseur

Apr 5, 2015

Shoe polish, Isopropyl, Baby oil, coffee filters, cotton balls and blue painters tape. These were all for art projects.

8. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Apr 5, 2015

trash cans and clocks. You'd think that a school would provide these things. But not all do/did.