undergrad transcript request

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by justwanttoteach, Apr 7, 2015.

1. justwanttoteach

justwanttoteach Cohort

Apr 7, 2015

Just looking for some reassurance.

I was a terrible student in undergrad...like so bad I barely graduated and love bed by the model "d's get degrees". Horrible.

However, in graduate school,I proudly got a 3.9gpa while working on a masters and credential. I have been asked to submit transcripts for undergrad..so when I did this I also included my shinny high scores for graduate school..hoping to distract district from my years of being young and stupid...how much weight is given to undergrad scores?? Am I anxious for nothing??

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Apr 7, 2015

Depends on the district. Your grad GPA should 'count more' but know that some administrators will use transcripts as screening elements. My supe even scrutinizes the school a candidate went to. He'll prefer a candidate from a 'better' school over a candidate who did well at an unknown college.
    During the interview process you could always address the grades issue. Good luck.

4. justwanttoteach

justwanttoteach Cohort

Apr 7, 2015

How does ur supervisor feel about National university??

5. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Apr 7, 2015

6. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Apr 7, 2015

The name "National University" won't magically open doors for you, justwanttoteach, but it probably won't automatically close any, either.

As to transcripts, it will be up to you to ensure that it's clear that your graduate GPA isn't a fluke by making sure your resume and cover letters are polished, articulate, and professional. With that said, your GPA has gone in the right direction, so you might be worrying a little too much.

7. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Apr 7, 2015

I have no idea. But if a degree is exclusively online, some supes won't consider those as highly as degrees from more traditional 'brick and mortar' schools.

8. Jen84