Unannounced observations

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by Pi-R-Squared, Jan 17, 2014.

1. Pi-R-Squared

Pi-R-Squared Groupie

Jan 17, 2014

As a first year teacher, I'm supposed to have unannounced observations conducted by either the AP or P. The 1st semester has already gone by and it hasn't been done yet.... Does this mean anything? Or have they just not gotten to me yet? :help:

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Jan 17, 2014

It could be anything. Just be ready for it every day.

4. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

Jan 18, 2014

I think they will be there. They just haven´t been in yet to observe.

5. nyteacher29

nyteacher29 Comrade

Jan 18, 2014

My department of 17 has yet to get our informals (unannounced). And they are due by April...4 for each person...

6. lucybelle

lucybelle Connoisseur

Jan 18, 2014

You might want to mention to your mentor teacher you haven't had an unannounced yet. It is possible they forgot it. Most likely they haven't gotten around to it yet.

7. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Jan 18, 2014

In every school I've worked in, administrators tend to do unannounced observations in bunches (ie: every teacher on eval gets an unannounced within about two weeks or so)

8. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jan 18, 2014

I'm sure they just haven't gotten to you yet. Don't worry about it.

9. pete2770

pete2770 Comrade

Jan 18, 2014

We don't have unannounced observations but my admin is...for lack of a better word lazy, so I've only had 1 of 3 so far.

And by one observation, I mean...she came in for maybe 15 minutes of a "required" 60ish minute observation.

If observations aren't done, it's not on you. It's on the admin. So I wouldn't worry about it.

10. Go Blue!

Go Blue! Connoisseur

Jan 18, 2014

Sometimes, Admin/the district say they will do things to support new teachers (give you a mentor, unannounced observations, regular feedback) and these things never materialize. I would not worry about it.