Tying in academic grades with behavior

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Jerseygirlteach, Dec 18, 2010.

1. Jerseygirlteach

Jerseygirlteach Groupie

Dec 18, 2010

Now, believe me, I know the initial reaction of most - behavior should be separate of grades. Poor behavior should not influence a students grade average but instead be dealt with separately.

Here's my situation. I have one class a day that is total chaos. I guess it's my fault as a bad teacher for letting it get this far but believe me when I tell you that I've tried everything - EVERYTHING. If I'm a terrible classroom manager, I still somehow manage my other classes just fine because there are no significant problems. I've never given out a detention or had to bribe with rewards in any of my other classes throughout my day. However, this class is on a whole other level. It is small group resource room (as is my other classes) so there are only 8 students. Of the 8, 4 of them are very well-behaved and genuinely want to learn and succeed.

As for the other 4,

Student 1 - comes in every day with wild eyes like he's on something (there's no other way to describe it). He will not stay quite for even 10 seconds - and I've timed it. He just rambles uncontrollably no matter what is going on. If he can't think of anything to comment on, he just sits and sings loudly. I've moved his chair so he faces a wall but he still twists his body around and just rambles out of control like you would expect of someone on some kind of illegal stimulant.

Student 2 - just does whatever he feels like. If he wants to talk, he talks. If he wants to sing, he sings. If he wants to walk across the room and shove someone jokingly, he does. You get the picture?

Student 3 - talks, gets up, wrestles other students in the middle of my classroom, etc. Sometimes he threatens me. "What are you going to do? I'll knock you out..." And then laughs and says "Just kidding."