Two questions (on is about math)

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by stacey19, Aug 8, 2013.

1. stacey19

stacey19 Rookie

Aug 8, 2013

I made my class supply list for fourth grade and was told fourth graders are too old to color and crayons should not be on the list. To me if they color something every once in awhile to help make learning more fun, there is no problem with that. Thoughts?

Also, What do you do the first week to assess where your students are in math? This is my first year teaching fourth grade so not sure where to start with math. It doesn't help my books aren't in yet either. HELP!

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 8, 2013

Switch out crayons for colored pencils...better for graphing, maps...maybe some skinny markers...they don't need crayons.

I think Florida has adopted the CCSS...read over your standards. Also check with your grade level members...they may have a beginning of year grade level assessment.

4. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Aug 8, 2013

I'll second the recommendation for colored pencils: that's how the grownups color. Require a little handheld sharpener for each kid too, though, or your best pencil sharpener will be toast.

5. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Aug 8, 2013

I'm going to disagree. There are many opportunities for 4th graders to color with crayons or colored pencils...and they love to color!

However, if your school doesn't allow crayons for the older kids, unfortunately(!), you have to do what they tell you to.

6. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Aug 8, 2013

A year or so ago, Costco in my neighborhood was selling some perfectly gorgeous coloring sets for geography: half a dozen fairly good colored pencils and about forty highly detailed color-by-number sheets that featured not only maps and political subdivisions but climate zones, regions, economic connections, hydrology, geology, and more. For third graders or below? I very much doubt it.