Twitter

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Mr.history, Apr 17, 2013.

1. Mr.history

Mr.history Cohort

Apr 17, 2013

Do any of the high school teachers here use Twitter with their students? I'm doing my masters in technology right now and one of the tools we discussed this week was twitter.

If you use this with your students, how do you use it? Do you send out assignment reminders, cool sites about what the students are learning, ect?

I'm hesitant about it but interested.

3. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Apr 17, 2013

Our student spirit group has one. I'm thinking about having my AP class set one up next year and do weekly grammar tips.

4. Mr.history

Mr.history Cohort

Apr 17, 2013

That sounds like a good use. I created myself a twitter and I linked it to the blog I made as well. I think I'm going to use it to "remind" students to check the blog when I've put new content on it.

I may even put extra credit assignments on there or something. Not sure.

5. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Apr 17, 2013

I was using twitter for a while to record new assignments, so that if the kids are a bit lost on what page we're at already, or needed to fill in the table of contents for the unit, they could check the website, and all I had to do was send a quick thing by phone.

Worked great, until I found out that Twitter regularly empties out old tweets, so the students couldn't go back and see the Tables of Contents for previous units, or even older assignments in this unit. I've been looking for an alternative that doesn't delete the tweets.

6. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Apr 17, 2013

I think it could be useful but I don't use it. It's blocked by our district filter. Neither I nor my students would be able to access it at school, making it sort of pointless.

I use Edmodo to send out assignment reminders and post resources.

7. Strick

Strick Rookie

Apr 17, 2013