Twins..what to do...

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by teach24iam, Jun 9, 2008.

1. teach24iam

teach24iam Comrade

Jun 9, 2008

Ok...I want to get more opinions on this matter. I am a manager in a pre-school. We have children from 6 weeks up to Kindergarten. We often have sets of twins....Does anyone think it is absurd to seperate them when they are about 2 1/2 to 3? I think it is in the best interest of the 2 children to be seperated, so that they can create and develop their own set of skills, their own set of friends, their own set of personalities and so forth, and really become known as individuals versus the "twins". I think this is a bad stigma for the children and they need to be seperated for there self confidence, independence and an understanding of ones self versus "the two of them". The reason I am asking is that this mother is INSISTING on leaving them together and can not understand why we think it is so important. I just want to know what others think and as to whether or not I am crazy for being so persistent on this matter. Thank you all.

3. chicagoturtle

chicagoturtle Fanatic

Jun 9, 2008

We have three set of twins in our pre-k. Two are together one set is separate. We still do a lot of things together. Of the two sets that are together one set rarely plays together. The other set does, but they do do different things at times. I think it depends on the situation. If the family is insisting maybe inquire further to see why. My cousins who are twins were in the same pre-k and requested that they be separated for kindergarten.

4. hescollin

hescollin Fanatic

Jun 9, 2008

We are a small school, so twins aren't seperated. I don't see a problem with leaving them together. In fact if I had twins I'd want them to be together. They will form their own special friends in time.

5. TeacherShelly

TeacherShelly Aficionado

Jun 9, 2008