Tutoring

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by MissL8, Feb 8, 2019.

1. MissL8

MissL8 Rookie

Feb 8, 2019

Hi, fellow teachers! Does anyone tutor on the side? If so, how much do you charge? I've been in contact with an agency that connects teachers to tutoring clients. They want to pay $35/hour. In my opinion that is extremely low, I was thinking more in the range of $50. I'm an experienced teacher with a Masters Degree and multiple state certifications. When I tried to negotiate with them, they informed me that was the going rate for teachers in our area with my level of experience. I'm in Northern NJ. I feel that they are trying to lowball the hourly rate because it is an agency. Do you agree? If you tutor, what do you charge?

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Feb 8, 2019

Since most tutors are referred word of mouth, I would say that $35/hour is slightly low, but without having a following, it isn't terribly wrong. A HS that I worked for paid $40/hour for home schooling/tutoring. Is that what the teachers got with a word of mouth clientele? No way. Those teachers never had to take those jobs, because they had as many tutoring students that they could handle, and at a better rate. That said, they also had years of experience in the classroom and that elusive word of mouth. Most of these were teachers of Honors and AP courses, and their tutored students did well not only with grades, but with standardized tests that were used for college admissions. If you want to ask for more, you will not be working for the agency, and you will need to build your client list from scratch. Perhaps a better inquiry would be how to go about getting those first few clients, and then building from there.

4. TrademarkTer

TrademarkTer Groupie

Feb 8, 2019