Turning in homework

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by dillpickle, Jun 13, 2007.

1. dillpickle

dillpickle Rookie

Jun 13, 2007

I'm trying to revamp my homework procedure. I used to use a pocket chart with each pocket for a different child. It was easy to see who didn't do any of their homework but a pain to sort through the homework. My students eventually sorted it and stacked it for me. What is an easier way to turn in homework so you can keep up with who did it right then at that moment???

3. Youngteacher226

Youngteacher226 Enthusiast

Jun 14, 2007

Well, I am a 2nd grade teacher and what I started doing by the middle of the year is have two kids with the job of the "homework stampers". What the "homework stampers" do is go through each homework assignment and put a check mark by the names of the students that turned in their homework. I made a checklist with all the kids name on it and they would just check off what was turned in and while they did their job, the other kids were doing bellwork or doing other classroom jobs. I myself use that time to do other things like attendance, getting supplies ready, getting plans ready for the day etc. This eliminated me waisting time sitting their checking homework and made me available to do other things. So when the "homework stampers" were done, they give me the checklist. I know right away who turned in homework and who didn't. Some helpers would even tap on some kids shoulders and say, "hey, where's your homework". I loved it because peer pressure is more potent and when your peers are noticing you are being forgetful, you will remember next time to save face. Well, my kids did, and it worked!:p

4. Ruby731

Ruby731 Rookie

Jun 14, 2007

UGH