Turn taking when reading and issues with following

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by jamoehope, Nov 4, 2009.

1. jamoehope

jamoehope Companion

Nov 4, 2009

This is an embarrassing question for me. I'll try to frame it in the context that I'm in my second year as Resource teacher and I'm STILL working on some things with my students... Here's one of the issues. :dizzy:

I have some 3rd graders who are mixed bag when it comes to reading aloud in turns. I like to have the students read one sentence at a time from passages.
    - One is an excellent reader who has great difficulty paying (or seeing the need to pay) attention while the others read aloud. When it is his he often has no idea where he is supposed to read.
    - Several struggle to read but are good at following by their eyes or by listening and then finding where the last student left off.
    - One struggles to read and to follow. If I ask him to follow another student while he reads, this student will track with his finger or his eraser on his pencil, but will easily get off place or easily forget to continue following. When it is his turn again, he often has no idea where he is supposed to read.

What can I do to ensure the students get their turns reading but also follow one another so they'll know where to read when it's time?

I'm thinking of trying something motivating like getting a turn to progress in a "board game," or getting group points every time a student knows where to read, but I'm afraid this will single out the student who has so much trouble tracking. I don't want to try to use punishment methods but I do want the students to take their time seriously so they can read as much as possible while they are with me.

Any tips would be really appreciated. :thanks:

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Nov 4, 2009

Try 'popcorn reading':