Trying to make a plan for organization

Discussion in 'General Education' started by VANewbie, May 8, 2011.

1. VANewbie

VANewbie Devotee

May 8, 2011

Trying to make a list of things I need to organize over the summer and things to buy, new systems to try.

What are your best organization tips that every teacher needs to know?

One of the best things that worked for me this year was having M-F baskets for lessons and materials needed as well as M-T homework bins. I just filled the baskets at the beginning of the week and was prepared and not looking around for materials etc...

Ive heard of the number system to help with filing and stuff but I am not sure how well that will work with 1st graders.

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

May 8, 2011

I've been working on getting organized for about five years, but I've really made some great headway this year. :lol: Some of the supplies I'm using to get organized are:

• File folders (bright colors and patterns, not to color-code but because it makes the organizing process more fun)
    • Erasable labels for file folders
    • Sharpies
    • Label-maker
    • Old, clean frosting containers
    • Rubbermaid & Sterilite clear plastic totes with lids, various sizes
    • Small baskets (like 6x6x6 or so) from the dollar store

For the longest time I was trying to organize using binders because a lot of people recommend it and it looks so much tidier than other organizational systems. I discovered, however, that for me, a binder-only organizational system isn't the best. I need a place to keep class sets of handouts, readings, and activities, and those are hard to keep in binders. I use a combo system of binders and hanging files. Binders are meant for resources and references for my use. I use them to file all my IEP/504/ELL/etc. information, professional development records and transcripts, discipline records, etc. I use hanging folders to file all my actual class materials, i.e. anything that students will use.