Trying to find stuff for my portfolio

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by hopscotch, Jul 30, 2008.

1. hopscotch

hopscotch Rookie

Jul 30, 2008

I guess it will be more like a pamphlet than a portfolio. I didn't major in education, so I've never done any student teaching or interning, but I've taught ("instructed") on many levels to all different age groups. I'm having difficulty finding things to put into a portfolio, but here's what I have so far:
    - teaching philosophy
    - "The First Week of School" plan of action (Student expectations, procedures, parent communication, behavior management plan) This part still needs a lot of work since I've never done these things formally before, but I thought it may be a good idea to show that I'm at least working on it.
    - Lesson Plan example. I'm having to re-create one from my old job, and we didn't really write formal lesson plans, but I can make it work.

I've thought about including a few ppt slides from one of my chemistry seminar presentations in college...even though it's not relevant course material, I could use it to show how I arranged a lecture. Maybe? Any other ideas of what I could include in my pamphlet?

3. USCgrad

USCgrad Companion

Jul 30, 2008

google and see if there are sites that help you build an e-portfolio...
    the school i attended used www.taskstream.com but i think it may cost...

I have the things you mentioned and a discipline plan, an analysis on one task (something we had to do for school, I used the morning routine and planned out EVERYTHING!), and a sub plan that includes what to do in the event of an emergency...ie. fire, bomb, earthquake, etc. I know the district will have a set expectation but it shows I realize a sub needs to know these things!

hope that helps...I am still working on my portfolio but my eportfolio is all done i just don't know how to market it!

4. hopscotch

hopscotch Rookie

Jul 30, 2008