Trying not to be the statistic (warning: long)

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ebrillblaiddes, Dec 8, 2008.

1. ebrillblaiddes

ebrillblaiddes Companion

Dec 8, 2008

It's been a while since I've been here...I've been dealing with, well, the stuff in this post. The standard statistic is that half of us wash out in five years, or seven years, or whatever it actually is. I'm in my second year out of college and in the teaching force, and starting to think I'm circling the drain.

College was rough. The first half of undergrad, I found mostly mind-numbing--the simplified-overview-of-fill-in-the-subject-for-ed-majors classes bored me to tears. The last half, I basically suffered through to get out of there so I could go to grad school, because the school I went to for undergrad made people apply to a special program for the actual meat of the teacher training classes, and I, in spite of jumping through all their hoops and doing everything anyone suggested to try to get ready, didn't get in--they said they thought I would have too many problems with classroom management, because of my personality, or confidence, or something, I never did get a straight answer about what was wrong or what to do about it. Grad school was this "social justice based" program from which I got the message that anything the kids do wrong means they need something so we should spoil them. I look back at that time and I can barely find anything I don't regret, because if I'd done the right things different then, maybe I wouldn't be almost giving up now.