Trouble describing my current TA job on my updated teacher resume

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by MissD59, Jan 13, 2013.

1. MissD59

MissD59 Comrade

Jan 13, 2013

I promise that did a search on the boards, but haven’t really found much pertaining to my question :)

I’m gearing up for the upcoming hiring season (can’t hurt, right?) and I’m struggling with how exactly to phrase my current Teacher Assistant position on my resume. I am a certified teacher, but the job market is pretty rough where I am, so I decided to look for TA jobs while I finish up my literacy certification this year in the evenings.

I’m having difficulty regarding the actual nature of my job. I was hired to be a 1:1 for a second grade student with PDD-NOS; he is academically very bright, but has some difficulties socially and emotionally. The district doesn’t want me on top of him in the classroom all the time. There is also a selective mute in the room who doesn’t need a 1:1, but his IEP specifies that he must be in a classroom with a TA.

In addition, although this isn’t an inclusion room, we have a few other students with IEPs in the classroom. Although I implement my student’s behavior plan all day(I created an entire binder with all the materials, and I themed them to his favorite video game character/game), I am sometimes with other students more than I’m with the child who I am a 1:1 for. I work with students who are struggling with any particular concept, I typically pull small groups during math for more individualized instruction, and now the Principal suggested that I start taking my own notes during Readers Workshop (we do Teacher’s College).

When the classroom teacher isn’t in, or has professional development, the school typically uses me as a sub. They also pull me to substitute in other rooms in the building as well. (Sometimes they provide a TA sub for me, sometimes they don’t.)