transitions/keeping busy

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by mommyofiz, Sep 4, 2007.

1. mommyofiz

mommyofiz Rookie

Sep 4, 2007

I am new to teaching first grade (today was my first day!) For the most part the day went fairly smoothly but I am wondering what teachers do when you give seat work and the students finish before others. We haven't gotten around to getting books so I can't just tell them to read their book. I would LOVE and appreciate and tips.

Thanks so much!

3. flowerpower31

flowerpower31 Comrade

Sep 4, 2007

have packets of worksheet type things for them to work on. I know worksheets are something a lot of people are against, but I personally love them. I think they're great review, and they're great to use for times like these (transition times). They can keep it in a folder.

4. mommyofiz

mommyofiz Rookie

Sep 4, 2007

I will definetly will try that tomorrow...thanks so much!

5. Carebear05

Carebear05 Comrade

Sep 4, 2007

Even tho they may not have books from the school library, maybe you could let them get a book each from the library in your classroom. I had the same problem today but my kids get to go to the library tomorrow so hopefully that will take care of that problem.

6. flowerpower31

flowerpower31 Comrade

Sep 4, 2007

no problem:)

7. brandnewteacher

brandnewteacher Rookie

Sep 4, 2007

I'm curious - what are the arguments against worksheets? My students seem to love them and ask for more when they are done. I thought they were a good way to reinforce the lesson.

8. teach1st

teach1st Comrade

Sep 5, 2007

I have a basket of seat work at the front of my classroom. It has a variety of things. Worksheets, letter tiles in a baggie to make words, lace around a shape, file folder games, and small word family flip charts. All the things are review. I feel this gives all my students something they like to do when they are finished. Each student likes a different thing.

9. Teacherella

Teacherella Habitué

Sep 5, 2007