Touch Math

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by tshame1, Apr 20, 2009.

1. tshame1

tshame1 Rookie

Apr 20, 2009

Hello all,
    I was looking for some advice.... I am currently doing a maternity leave in a kindergarten room. We are working basic addition to just become familiar with it. The school uses touch point math and they begin heavily with it in 1st grade. So i am just introducing it to my class. I would like to do maybe an activity with it. Right now the students just learned the numbers and what they look like with the cooresponding dots. I dont want to go too heavy into it since they will be doing it later but i would like to do an activity or game with it. Does anyone have any suggestions or ideas that have worked for them.
    Thanks so much

3. firstgradeteach

firstgradeteach Comrade

Apr 20, 2009

I know as a first grade teacher, I'd love for the students to be introduced to it in depth. They always "lose" some over the summer break.

You can make it more fun by using an addition paper that they have to color?

Addition dominos with the touch points. A number sentence on one side and you have to match it with a sum or an equilvalent number sentence. (Might be too difficult for most of your kids)

Matching or concentration game. Have cards with just the shape of where the dots belong, and other cards with the numbers. The students either have to match the two types of cards or can play a concentration game where they have to match the dot pattern with the number.

I always teach a lot of second grade material for the students that are ready for it. I don't think that it would hurt to teach the first grade material as long as they are ready for it and they don't need to master other kindergarten skills before the end of the year..

4. leighbball

leighbball Virtuoso

Apr 20, 2009