Total newbie cannot decide what ed program to pursue- pls advise

Discussion in 'General Education' started by jessycka, Oct 24, 2015.

1. jessycka

jessycka Guest

Oct 24, 2015

Hi all, I am new to the forum. I'm a 30 year old woman in California. I have wanted to teach for a while, but because I didn't get my degree in education (I got my bachelors in fine art with an emphasis on design), I was hesitant to dive back into school. Now I am fairly certain I'd like to work as a teacher. I struggle as a freelance artist and I want to see if a more structured environment is right for me. I want to make an impact on people in a way that studio art is not doing right now. I want to be around people, not holed up in the studio all day. I don't see myself quitting art permanently, but would like to pursue teaching and art simultaneously. I love kids, I love observing them and seeing them grow. As an artist I am inspired by how children see the world.

I want your help, if possible, because there are too many options out there for me, and I can't decide which program to pursue!

I am very interested in child development. I have lots of experience working with people with disabilities and I could see myself working with a similar population. But I am definitely not sure what grade or age level I would like to teach. I am interested in alternative models such as Waldorf or Montessori, but open to many possibilities.

So here are the limitations I am dealing with:

-I do not have a bachelors in education.
    -I want a degree or certification program that is as short as possible. I cannot spend another four years in college. A program two years or under is desirable.
    -I want a degree or certification program that is as inexpensive as possible (don't we all?) because I already have loans I am paying off.
    -I am located in California and I would prefer not to move.