Too Young to Teach?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by GatsbyFlowers, Aug 18, 2014.

1. GatsbyFlowers

GatsbyFlowers New Member

Aug 18, 2014

I'm a recent graduate and decided to spend a year subbing to gain more in-classroom experience before going after a full-year position. I received a call from my district's sub-caller, asking me if I'd be interested in a Long Term Position for High School English (which is basically my dream job for the moment). I had the interview today, but after asking to see my resume and CEAS and telling me that there was a senior class in addition to the sophomore ones, she had me asking all the questions and said that while I seemed well-prepared (I had a huge portfolio of stuff I did student teaching as well as a list of questions prepared), she's concerned about me teaching a senior class because of my age. I know to take certain precautions-- like always leaving the door open, never being alone with a student, etc-- and she did say that everyone had to go through it eventually.

Do you think being a young teacher (I'm 21, but I look even younger) will negatively impact my chances of getting the job? Or have any advice for young teachers/subs that could help me have a more successful interview in the future?

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Virtuoso

Aug 18, 2014

I just turned 22 and taught seniors when I first started. I didn't have any issues at all, a dn I could have easily passed for a student. Behave professionally. That's my only advice.

My current BF loves to tell people that I was his teacher. He was a freshman (maybe sophomore) my first year of teaching. We didn't have any contact them, other than me covering a class he was in one time. We didn't officially meet and date until this past May. We are 36 and 44.

4. BumbleB

BumbleB Habitué

Aug 18, 2014

One of my colleagues graduated from high school/college early, so she was 20 and teaching seniors. However, that was almost 20 years ago.