Too much homework...

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by stampin'teacher, Sep 8, 2011.

1. stampin'teacher

stampin'teacher Cohort

Sep 8, 2011

I just got approached by a couple parents who said I have been giving too much homework...

I am new at this school, but last night for homework they had:
    -Read ch.2 of their book (5 pages), answer 2 questions, and illustrate a scene from the chapter
    -1 page in their Spelling workbook
    -1 page of math & practice math facts

Too much for fourth grade???

If I really am giving too much, please let me know. But this seems to be a workload that a fourth grader should be able to handle.

3. mollydoll

mollydoll Connoisseur

Sep 8, 2011

How long do you realistically expect all that to take? It seems to me that a lot of kids would need more than an hour.

That is a lot for kids who have a long day in school, then after school and family activities.

Illustrating the scene seems like busy work to me. I'm not an elementary school teacher though.

4. penguinpc

penguinpc Comrade

Sep 8, 2011

When I taught 3rd grade, we used to tell parents they should have about 10 minutes of homework per grade level. First grade: 10 minutes, 2nd grade 20 minutes, and so on. I agree with Mollydoll, that does seem like it would take a kid more than an hour to complete.

Are there other 4th grade classes at your school? If so, do that they give a similar amount of homework?

5. mb_teacher

mb_teacher Companion

Sep 8, 2011

We have our students read 20 minutes per night and then complete whatever work they didn't complete at school.
    Honestly, I rarely give homework. With my kids, they don't have the home support, so it never gets done.
    To get these "homework" things done, I assign them as centers work during small group time. I can keep track of it easier and I know it's getting done. PLUS, they have the added benefit of being able to ask a classmate if they are having trouble.