Too much down time

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by minnie, May 3, 2018.

1. minnie

minnie Cohort

May 3, 2018

I am a kindergarten teacher. Our last day of school is June 1. Our school does Wonders for our reading curriculum. I only have this week and next week left of our curriculum. I do Wonders from 10:00-11:00. When we are done, I am going to have an hour to spare with my students. Could you all please give me some ideas of what I could do to fill that block? I already do Science and Social Studies with them after lunch recess. Also, I have zero time to plan for elaborate activities during this time. I am in the process of moving and my two young kids are very involved in sports so I am very pressed for time. I'm sure I'll think of something, but I was hoping to get some suggestions of what to do. Thank you!

Leaborb192 likes this.
  3. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

May 3, 2018

Could you get your hands on the first grade curriculum and do some activities/lessons from that? Even though they will get it again next year, it probably won't hurt to introduce the skills now.

If that doesn't work, I'd do a random, fun read aloud and independent reading activities... but I teach third grade. I'm not sure how well that would work in a kindergarten classroom.

minnie and readingrules12 like this.
  4. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Enthusiast

May 3, 2018

Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
    minnie likes this.
  5. Master Pre-K

Master Pre-K Virtuoso

May 3, 2018

Puzzles
    computers
    Share/pair read & then story dictation
    Visit another class and perform
    story dictation
    Food experience
    Clean out your desk!
    Have them clean their desks
    Collaborative learning with high achieving 1st graders
    Go outside and read

Last edited: May 3, 2018
    minnie and Been There like this.
  6. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

May 4, 2018