Too many questions, driving me nuts!

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by Sasha Gobert, Jan 19, 2016.

1. Sasha Gobert

Sasha Gobert New Member

Jan 19, 2016

Hi,
    I'm trying to find quick strategies/resources to help stop all the ENDLESS questions and students making me feel guilty, frustrated, bombarded, or angry because they are the ANTITHESIS of self-sufficient. I am a high school science teacher doing a favor for a principal whose teacher quit on him and thus, teaching seventh grade social studies this year. It's already difficult for me switching age levels (maturity/procedures/intrinsic motivation, etc) and subjects as I am not trained to be a social studies teacher but the incessant questions are driving me bananas! We have an online grading system where students may email me and the sheer amount of crazy ass questions I get a day is mind-boggling. I can't turn the feature off and if I don't answer them online they will hound me before class, showing up during periods they don't belong in, coming during lunch time etc. until their endless barrage of questions is met with satisfaction. How do I make it stop?

For example, I assigned an end of unit project; very simple, just your basic informational pamphlet. The instructions and format were one page and then I gave them a five section rubric to follow. Most of the questions I feel like come from them not reading. They just want to be told what to do instead of having to bother reading. I ignore most inane questions but all the constant nagging is really starting to annoy me. I work in a lower-income neighborhood with a school population that is entirely people of color so I want to be supportive of them and normally I would encourage questioning, but I'm starting to feel like its laziness or ineptitude. What can I do?

3. Obadiah

Obadiah Groupie

Jan 19, 2016