Too many classes?

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by SpecialTeacher, Aug 4, 2007.

1. SpecialTeacher

SpecialTeacher Rookie

Aug 4, 2007

I'm a first year teacher and also an intern, so I haven't finished my credential coursework yet. I was planning on taking a full load of four classes this semester but my mentor teacher seemed pretty adamant on me dropping three of them because it would be too stressful. I still have a lot of school left ahead of me and I kind of wanted to get through it as quickly as possible. Am I setting myself up to fail? Last semester I subbed full time and took four classes and I was fine. Of course, having my own classroom is going to be much more work but I thought I could handle it. Am I being naive?

3. Lyquidphyre

Lyquidphyre Comrade

Aug 4, 2007

I suggest taking one course now and see how that works out, and if it is too much then you haven't set yourself up for disaster... if it isn't much, then you know next semester you can handle more classes.

4. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Aug 4, 2007

I think that's great advice.

Last year was my first year teaching and I worked very hard to do the best at my job, but I was at a private school and the curriculum we used makes things VERY easy on the teachers. I could've easily taken a full course load at night. This year is my second year, though, and I'll be teaching in a new school, at a new grade level, and in a new subject area. I know this year is going to involve a tremendous amount of work on my part and I'm worried about taking the one course I need to take in order to get the new teaching license I need. I would feel it out for the first semester and then up the course load next semester if you feel you can.

5. trulyblssd

trulyblssd Companion

Aug 4, 2007