Too Little Direct Instruction?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Sab, Oct 21, 2017.

1. Sab

Sab Companion

Oct 21, 2017

It's my first year teaching and one of the subjects I'm teaching is 7th grade science. Honestly, I'm not an expert in the material by any stretch. I have my multiple subject credential. I spend a ton of time planning and finding resources and mostly set up activities that students can do on their own or with groups...such as reading an article or doing research on a topic and answering questions about it, EDpuzzles, making a group poster on a term, doing a simple lab and typing up a lab report, Quizizz, worksheets, etc. I try to switch it up so they're not always on the computers but I do use them a good amount.

Yesterday one kid said he hated me, hated the class, and that I "never actually teach them anything." I told him that I was sorry he felt that way and everyone has different teaching styles and that I try to get them to learn on their own. I'm guessing he meant I never lecture and tell them information directly, which is true. When I try to do that even briefly I feel like I do a horrible job because I have a vague understanding of the concept, can't explain it clearly enough, and am not prepared for questions. I know I can't expect over 100 students to like me but his comment did kind of upset me and make me wonder whether I really should try to incorporate more direct instruction into my lessons?? Thoughts?

3. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Oct 21, 2017

A few thoughts:

First, like you said, don't expect every kid to like the way you run the classroom -- some will prefer direct instruction, some will prefer group work, some will prefer a mix, and some will just want to whine no matter what ;)

Secondly, it's important to use a mix of instructional strategies. An all-lecture classroom or an all-group work/inquiry classroom likely won't do as well as when multiple strategies are being implemented.