Token System

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by pateacher, Jul 25, 2005.

1. pateacher

pateacher Rookie

Jul 25, 2005

I am a new third grade teacher. I am thinking about using a token system in my classroom where students receive tokens for good behavior. I wanted to know what people think I should do as a consequence for bad behavior. Thanks

3. skelley

skelley Rookie

Jul 25, 2005

I have a token system (tickets) and I also have a card system. The mix works well because if one system doesn't work with one student, the other one might. But one thing that has really worked well with the tickets is when the student breaks a rule, I will have them pay me some of their tickets. They hate having to do that (most of them anyway). They would rather change their card than lose tickets. Hope that helps.

4. Andrea L

Andrea L Habitué

Jul 25, 2005

I'm also going to be doing a token system similar to the one on Ms. Powells website. I've honestly thought about ignoring bad behaviors (minor ones) and praising the student for when he or she is doing the correct thing. Of course I will have to do something for severe behaviors, but I hope to never get there. I thought by possibly praisinig all of the good qualities that I wouldn't have to worry about the bad behaviors, especially if I do a good job establishing the expectations. I don't know how well this will work, but it's something that I've thought about doing.

5. Ms.Jasztal

Ms.Jasztal Maven

Jul 25, 2005

Consequences... We have a school-wide discipline policy, and here is our newest revision.

My students have their name on the board with the number of the rule they act out against next to it. After they get to two numbers on the board next to their names, this is how it goes...

One number- Verbal warning

Two numbers or more...
    Step 1- Verbal warning and parent contact
    Step 2- Conference with student and parent contact
    Step 3- Guidance referrals, parent conference, interventions