Toddler Teacher Salaries

Discussion in 'Montessori Archives' started by carriescandles, Jun 1, 2006.

1. carriescandles

carriescandles Rookie

Jun 1, 2006

Do any of you experienced Montessori Teachers have an idea of a salary range that would be reasonable? I am interviewing for the first time in 7 years to make a change and am struggling with this issue. Some schools have said I am paid well while others say I am underpaid. Just thought I would get an idea of others out there. Also in your experience do most Montessori Teachers get the summer off? I have in all 7 years but that seems to also be in question. Thanks for the heads up.

:)

3. Kerana5

Kerana5 Rookie

Jul 3, 2006

Toddle Teacher Salaries

Depending on your experience I would say between $12-15k a year is reasonable. Or maybe I'm a sucker.

Last year I worked as an intern, part-time (8AM to 1PM) and made $12K a year.

This year I got a job as lead teacher, 1 yr experience and was offered $14K a year. (8Am to 3:30PM). It averaged out to $10 an hour.

Today another school called to offer me a job for same hours as I will be working, but the salary they offered was $13K a year.

If you had 7 years experience maybe somewhere between $14k-$16K a year might be reasonable, what do others think?

4. Pattypoo

Pattypoo Comrade

Jul 3, 2006

At the school where I work, the teachers are paid according to a scale.
    Some of the factors that decide the pay rate are Montessori certification, college degree ( a BS or Masters) state of Illinois teaching certification, and years experience. We are a private non for profit school that goes from age 3-6th grade. Our school recently did a pay survey of the public and private schools in our city. They then adjusted the pay scale. A person with a 4 year college degree and Montessori certification would start out around 25,000 a school year.

5. Kerana5

Kerana5 Rookie

Jul 3, 2006

Man, I wonder if I can convince my husband to transfer to Illinois then.