To Tear or Not to Tear: Workbook Question!!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Starista, Jan 20, 2007.

1. Starista

Starista Cohort

Jan 20, 2007

Hello! :love:

There may be another thread on this ~ so my apologies in advance if there is!

Anyways!

I am a grade one teacher and we are about to switch to our volume 2 practice workbook for reading/phonics. For volume 1 ~ I allowed the kids to tear out their own pages. This was rather difficult at first ~ as when I said "Ok, please turn to page 75" some were on page 57, some were staring into space, and some had out their math workbook (on page 57!!) and were beginning to tear it out! :)

I realize it helps teach responsibility and LISTENING SKILLS to the kids when we have them find their correct workbook and get to the correct page ~ but I do find it a little bit of a waste of time.

I have a classroom of 28 1st graders ~ and it's very time consuming to walk around the classroom and make sure that each kid is on the correct page.

At the end of the book are "End of Story Selection Tests." They're also very difficult for the kids to locate.

Does anyone think it would be hindering their readiness for grade two if I pre-pulled their worksheets for them?

Let me know! Thanks so much!

:love:

3. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Jan 20, 2007

Sometimes as teacher we need to do things just to make it a little easier on us. And you would have more teaching time if you had the pages pulled out already.

4. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Jan 20, 2007

I agree with Jaime.... pull the pages out before.

5. Rosieo

Rosieo Enthusiast

Jan 20, 2007

I have a mom that comes in about once a month and tears out the pages for both the math practice book and our reading practice books. I know that they can do it on their own but why waste the time in class doing it? It is just easier for me to do this. I never had a second grade teacher come to me and say that it hindered them for second grade.

6. Miss W