To teach or not to teach...

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by CDOR79, Jun 14, 2007.

1. CDOR79

CDOR79 Comrade

Jun 14, 2007

...that is the question!

I need some advice from teachers out there, so please help me out! I am a certified teacher for grades K-5. I completed my student teaching and received my degree about 2 years ago, but still have yet to teach. I didn't have such a great student teaching experience and I ran into some problems. Those problems were partly due to my own faults and partly to do with me not getting along with my cooperating teacher. To say the least, these problems gave me a sour taste about teaching all together and caused me to lose every ounce of confidence I had in myself.

Now, 2 years later, I still fight myself with the idea to GIVE IT A TRY. I feel like I owe it to myself to do so and if I don't, I'll never know how I would have done as a teacher. Part of me gets excited at the thought of teaching while the other gets intimidated by all the the work and preparation teaching requires, and SCARED that I will fail as a teacher.

I guess my question is for not only your opinion, but also to ask how different you would say student teaching is compared to being a first year teacher. Is it just a matter of getting yourself adjusted and getting yourself into a routine, or does it always feel so overwhelming? ANY advice would be greatly appreciated! :confused:

3. njeledteacher

njeledteacher Cohort

Jun 14, 2007

I had a not so great coop teacher also...maybe we had the same one!?! When you start teaching on your own it's different. Although I don't have my own classroom yet, but have done ML. I think you need the passion to go you through the rough spots, but it does get easier. Are you looking in NJ at the moment?

4. shouts

shouts Companion

Jun 14, 2007

Ok... where are you guys! Student teach in 2nd grade? Miserable experience for me!

5. MissWull

MissWull Cohort

Jun 14, 2007