Tired of Staff Negativity

Discussion in 'General Education' started by woobie5, Dec 17, 2009.

1. woobie5

woobie5 Comrade

Dec 17, 2009

How do I NOT let this bother me. This is my first year and I just feel like people/staff are so rude and unhelpful! They are quick to point out EVERYTHING I did/do wrong instead of praising me when/if I do anything right!

The two that are the worst is the secretary (always pointing out when I wrote an attendance down wrong etc. I dropped a piece of paper by my mailbox today and she comes marching it in all rude etc. I didn't mean to:eek:).

The cooks! OMG ... if I write a lunch down wrong or come too early or too late to lunch with my kiddos....talk about glares and comments!

Oh ... and my aide. My lovely aide. Today we were doing a christmas craft and I asked the kids to take the wreaths back to the table to dry and she shouts out "Well did you have them put their names on them" I said "Ooops" and she rolled her eyes and got all huffy with the kids and started writing their name on them. SHEESH!

Any advice? It's really getting to me. I feel like a horrible person AND teacher! I'm doing the best I can!

3. DenaliBear

DenaliBear Rookie

Dec 17, 2009

I'm not a teacher but reading this makes me feel so bad for you! It must be so stressful. I just wanted to point out that making mistakes does not make you a horrible person or teacher.
    You're doing the best you can and that's more than can be said for many other people.

If it were me though, I would not be looking for praise because it sounds like you won't be getting it from them. Take the mistakes you've made and learn from them.

Just remember why you came into this profession! :) All the other nonsense is just that -- Nonsense!!

4. jen12

jen12 Devotee

Dec 17, 2009

I'm so sorry you have to put up with that. I hate when people forget where they came from and that they were new once, too.

Hopefully after the holidays, people will come back rested and less stressed.