tips on scheduling

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by justlive, Aug 7, 2018.

1. justlive

justlive New Member

Aug 7, 2018

Hello! I am a new special education teacher. I will be co-teaching and doing pull out this year. I am very worried about creating my schedule. Ive been looking for advice but it all seems to be on self-contained classrooms. So far I have just written down the hours my kids need but idk where to go from there. An tips for starting out?

3. HistoryTeach4

HistoryTeach4 Rookie

Aug 7, 2018

I don't know exactly what it is you are pulling out for or your exact situation but I can tell you how I worked it out for my reading students this summer.

The first thing I did (same as you) was see how often I needed to take them. I then checked to see if there were times during the day that I absolutely could not pull them out from. I then looked at my schedule to see when would be the best times to take students and plugged them in.

It takes some time and a few redos, but you'll get there. I recommend creating a table on Word or Google Docs so that you can copy and paste easily.

4. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Aug 7, 2018