Tips for working with Middle School Students

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Swetha, Mar 11, 2014.

1. Swetha

Swetha Rookie

Mar 11, 2014

Hi everyone,

I'm a college student who volunteers in a middle school after-school program once a week.

I'm really, really struggling with the balance between being an authority figure and creating relationships with the kids. During homework time, I try to enforce that kids do the homework and not use cell phones, but it's really hard when the tutor that works with me doesn't. I'm upset because I feel like they won't like me if I'm too firm with them. I've been feeling really down because I'm not sure if I'll be a good teacher because I'm struggling to create this balance. When I'm just having fun with the kids, I do great with them and they like me, but during homework time, I feel like I'm a bad cop. I love, love, love the kids but I feel like I'm not doing a good job at creating relationships with them.

Also, are there any tips for working with middle school students who are not working? (screaming, running, etc.) The program coordinators are in different rooms at different times so they're not always with us in the room.

Thanks!! Any advice is much appreciated.

3. readingrules12

readingrules12 Fanatic

Mar 11, 2014

I know this might be hard to hear, but you must do what is best for middle school students, and not worry about whether they like you. They may or may not like you, but if they see you are willing to not be the adult and stand up for what is right, they will walk all over an adult like that. Middle school is very tough as they are really testing their boundaries. They might not be your buddy, but they do respect the following things:

1. Fairness
    2. Consistency
    3. A teacher who can remain calm
    4. A teacher who makes an attempt to make learning fun.

As soon as you forget about trying to be liked by middle school students is when success can begin.

4. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado