Tips for Teaching

Discussion in 'General Education' started by changingchristy, Aug 6, 2012.

1. changingchristy

changingchristy Rookie

Aug 6, 2012

Hello All,

I am on my way to changing my career to teaching. I am now studying for the content exam for my state and after that will start the classes with my certification program. Meanwhile, I hope to have enough time to volunteer at a school and just see what teachers do on a daily basis. This is if my schedule allows me to do this, I work full-time. I just wanted to ask you all: What are your tips on teaching? This could be from how to present yourself in class or speaking skills to professional development. I have some experience with students since I am an academic advisor for a university, but I have always been on the sideline and not the actual field. I also have a degree in psychology so I am familiar with child development.

Thanks! And while of this is happening, I am also planning a wedding! :rolleyes: It is exciting though to know that my life is completely changing!

Thanks to all you teachers who are on here as mentors for us career-changers!:)

3. applecore

applecore Devotee

Aug 6, 2012

Best wishes and congratulations on your wedding!

Two things I tell my student teachers....

1. Observe as many different classroom management styles as you can in different schools as possible. You'll find one you like, hate, and a happy middle that you can call your own. Make classroom management the #1 thing you completely rock at and can toot your own horn about during an interview. :)

2. Spend time in classes from K through 12. You'll find which grade tires you out, stresses you out, challeges your mind, and gives you peace in knowing where you see yourself teaching.

I'm starting my 4th year teaching 3rd grade, and the #1 thing I'm very good at is classroom management. :whistle: And, yes, I told the pannel of 9 during my interview for this position exactly that. :)

4. jwteacher

jwteacher Cohort