Tips for modifying instruction in class.

Discussion in 'General Education' started by bewlove, Sep 5, 2014.

1. bewlove

bewlove Companion

Sep 5, 2014

Tips for modifying instruction in class?

Hello, there! I am a fourth grade ELA and social studies teacher. I am needing a little bit of help in figuring out how to modify instructions and word for some of my kids.

This is my first year teaching, and in the first few weeks, I feel like I have neglected some of the important aspect of teaching that I did in college. These are things that will be reflected on my evaluations, so I want to make sure that I begin incorporating them in my lessons.

I haven't really been modifying any classwork (other than tests, etc.). But, I know that it is an important part of lesson planning and would fall under "knowing my students".

My day is split up into two classes. My first class is my lower group, and my second class is my higher group.

In my lower group, most of my kids are still able to do the work. I notice it takes them a considerably longer time and that I have to tell directions, write directions on the board, and model directions for them. I still will then have some kids who raise their hands because "they don't know what to do". ;)

My higher group is much quicker to get things done and definitely have overall higher grades.